Morels, Asparagus and Rhubarb

I was sure to arrive at the Farmer’s Market early today. Last week all the morels and asparagus sold out before I got there. This week, however, there was an abundance of both. Rhubarb was less plentiful, but Mary Jo Benden from Welden Farm had beautiful, red bunches of rhubarb. And just in case the color alone wasn’t enough to convince me, Mary Jo uncovered a tray of rhubarb crumble, “It bakes up like this,” she says. Mmmm, rhubarb crumble!

Welden Farm rhubarb

Welden Farm rhubarb


I confess, I have never tried morel mushrooms. They are, however, considered a delicacy in the area. Like ramps, their growing season is brief (about three weeks), and at the Market people buy ’em while they can. The man I bought them from suggested (for newbies) cutting them in fourths and sauteing them in butter.
Morel Mushrooms

Morel Mushrooms


Several places sold asparagus, and not always for cheap. Four dollars a pound was a common price, but I found a couple of vendors who were selling for $3 or $3.50 a pound. I bought my asparagus from two different vendors.
Bountiful Asparagus

Bountiful Asparagus


Having enjoyed our last Market meat experience, Eric encouraged me to buy some more. I stopped by Fountain Farms and expressed how much we enjoyed last week’s skirt steak, but in the spirit of variety, I opted to explore other vendors. As I turned the corner, I stumbled upon Jordandal Farm, where to my surprise was the smiling face of Maria, a regular customer at the cafe I used to work at. Maria patiently talked me through the flavor and health benefits of Jordandal’s grass-fed Red Angus beef. I bought a pound of their ground beef, with plans for making homemade burgers.
Jordandal farmer Carrie Johnson and Maria

Jordandal farmer Carrie Johnson and Maria

Leave a Reply

